Web development: Ruby, Rails, Java, and libraries

by

Well, it’s the new year after all…

This year I will mostly be looking at … Ruby, Java and the excellent Scriptaculous Javascript library. (Said with an IoM accent.)

Ruby

is a relatively new programming (interpreted scripting) language, it’s object-oriented, and has a similar syntax to Perl. The real buzz for Ruby is Ruby on Rails, a web-development platform, which while very popular, is actually proving to be a bit of a headache for me (more on this later).

Java

is a bit of an old carthorse, and I’m fond of it. I’m looking at Apple’s WebObjects framework, something that I’m not familiar with, nor have I heard any really great things about it from colleagues. It is, nevertheless, an important framework in connection with Norwegian libraries (because of Frida and DUO). I actually assumed that WebObjects was a bad choice, because of Apple’s seeming disinterest for it … all of that changed this year. Shame about the lack of ObjC support, he-he.

Scriptaculous

seems like a really good thing, I’ll be migrating the Mootools (yes, it’s brilliant too, but it just doesn’t cut it in the same way) based projects to Scriptaculous in the next months.

Tags: , , ,


