BBC’s customizable Web 2.0 beta

by

The BBC has launched a beta of its homepage.

My colleague Joost (who’s an industrious fellow that keeps his eye open for this kind of thing) sent me this link, and he’s right, this is quite noteworthy.

The page is widget-based and features the ability to turn on/off content, move content around the page, customize content (form pre-formatted options) and more.

The impressive thing is that entering, for example, a postcode for weather also changes how the other widgets work, so I get my local radio stations and local news based on the choices I make in other widgets.

Nice. But, do we want a library that works like this? Imagine being able to select content and have this reflected in what new titles are shown, journal ToC RSS feeds are offered, etc. It just might work…

Tags: ,


