iPhone?

by

I firmly believe that the future of computing lies with mobile devices; I was even accused of being a crony of the mobile telephone industry. An interesting thing here is that some people still aren’t with the programme:

“I mean does this stuff work on iPhone?” line kills me, What does iPhone have to do with any of it and who cares… This lady comes off as one of the people who can’t accept change[,] like when people laughed at the guy who said that everybody would have a computer and they would be small, this was back when the computers were the size of a room!”

tmyclyk dmytryk

Firstly, the relevance of the iPhone (actually here I mean devices running iPhone OS) is that they are currently the only widespread devices using a viable mobile touch technology — when Android comes of age, we’ll have some competition. Let’s look at this critically, though: when Google says something about why they’ve changed their favicons, their chosen words are:

The reason is that we wanted to develop a set of icons that would scale better to some new platforms like the iPhone and other mobile devices.

The official Google blog

This indicates two things to me: one that iPhone is really quite important, and two that iPhone is the only currently relevant platform (note that Google doesn’t mention the excellent Android, which it actually develops). The second thing is that the the trend mentioned in the quote by tmyclyk dmytryk whereby big devices get smaller is exactly the trend I’m pointing to.

I recently attended a talk by Dave Shreiner, where he stated that laptops will be dead within five years. I doubt that he’ll be wrong. Will everyone own an iPhoneOS device? I doubt it, unless Apple gets smart and licenses the OS.😀

Tags: , ,

One Response to “iPhone?”

  1. brinxmat Says:

    Yet again, a few comments here. Please read the text!

    Interestingly, though, I agree that the future will be wearable devices, or rather modifications of our biological capacities — I’ve even mentioned it before. I quite fancy that idea. But this stuff is still many years away from being brought to comsumerization.

    FTR: I’m talking about the next thing, not the thing after that, or the one after that. I don’t think that the iPhone as-is will replace computer hardware, but its interface methodologies certainly have promise and a lot more development-scope than any of the laptop tech I’ve seen. A full evaluation of Android will tell us whether or not this is a better tech, and I certainly believe that competition is needed in order to drive development.

    From my point of view, these devices are still limited to two dimensions (just like your mouse) and physical movements, but this is the next-new tech (it’s a realistic future, not pie in the sky).

Comments are closed.


