ILI2008: Preservation for the next generation

by

Marieke Guy from UKOLN talked about preserving web data, and the various problems that this causes. How, for example do I preserve these words for posterity? Is it enough that I take an XML dump from wordpress.com.

Interesting thoughts, and a lot to munch on! I have to admit that I didn’t really think that it was necessary to provide a definitive version of any web page at a given date, so I hadn’t considered any of this. Of course, I am probably very, very wrong (hey, nothing new there), and this talk showed us quite a few good arguments for taking dumps of your site on a regular basis.

It’s interesting to note that we still have a lot of stuff available from the old NTNU Library nets in various folders littered about our servers. Will these disappear when we move over to NTNU IT’s servers?

Tags:


